Lucid dreaming based game ideal for the Oculus Rift

jumbli
One Eyed Hopeful

Lucid dreaming based game ideal for the Oculus Rift

Post by jumbli »

Dreams are our minds version of VR, and becoming lucid in a dream (i.e. aware you are dreaming) provides an opportunity to study them to see what techniques can be used in VR games. I have been practising lucid dreaming (on and off) for many years and think it is an ideal premise for a VR game, and even overcomes some of the challenges facing a VR game.

Unfortunately I don't have time to develop a game, but am happy to share my experience and provide input to anyone that is interested. Here are some observations about lucid dreams (LD) and how they could be used in VR

Consistency:
LD) If you look at a poster the image and text will be fixed, you can study intricate details. Look away and then look back and the theme and message of the poster will likely be consistent, but the text and imagery will have changed, maybe subtly, maybe obviously.
VR) Imagine the fun of puzzles where there is less consistency, different versions of the puzzle would drive you to the same outcome.
VR) The scene in front of you should remain consistent like a normal game, but do what you please with areas out of peripheral vision. For example, you are in a bus station focused on a puzzle. When the puzzle is solved you turn to look behind you and find you are in a train station. Turn back to the puzzle and it has now been replaced by a brick wall.

Dreams cut to the chase:
LD) Imagine you are walking from home to a shop. You walk past familiar houses, down roads you know and arrive at the shop in 30 seconds, even though it would have taken 10 minutes in real life.