Google Cardboard HMD - SweetFX VR Correction Shader Suite

Talk about Head Mounted Displays (HMDs), augmented reality, wearable computing, controller hardware, haptic feedback, motion tracking, and related topics here!
Fortran
One Eyed Hopeful

Google Cardboard HMD - SweetFX VR Correction Shader Suite

Post by Fortran »

After several weeks of playing various PC titles with my Google Cardboard VR setup (LG G3 phone + Zeiss VR ONE HMD) mostly with vireio perception and thoroughly enjoying it I decided to try some other non vireio perception supported games such as DX10/11 titles some of which have native SBS (such as Elite Dangerous) and some of which require TriDef. The thing I instantly missed was the lens and aspect ratio correction, not to mention chromatic aberration correction so I decided to try and create a better experience for myself using some custom SweetFX shaders. I'm very new to writing shaders in general so as such there are probably mistakes which could be tidied up but regardless everything is working fine anyway.

The base shader HLSL snippets I adapted these from for SweetFX are mostly from freely available examples I found around the net for the DK1. As such this is not a proper "mod" release or anything of that nature, I just decided to make my personal work available for those who might find it useful, I won't really be supporting this or updating it, everything required is in the folder and can be tweaked further or totally re-written as you wish.