FreePIE official thread

Official forum for open source FreePIE discussion and development.
Post Reply
CyberVillain
Petrif-Eyed
Posts: 2166
Joined: Mon Jun 22, 2009 8:36 am
Location: Stockholm, Sweden

FreePIE official thread

Post by CyberVillain »

This is the official thread dedicated to the FreePIE software being developed as a replacement for GlovePIE

1.9.629.0 available today (2016-02-16). Visit homepage for download and release notes
http://andersmalmgren.github.io/FreePIE

Heres a wiki page about scripting in FreePIE
https://github.com/AndersMalmgren/FreeP ... /Scripting
Last edited by CyberVillain on Tue Feb 16, 2016 2:10 pm, edited 30 times in total.
User avatar
cybereality
3D Angel Eyes (Moderator)
Posts: 11407
Joined: Sat Apr 12, 2008 8:18 pm

Re: FreePIE official thread

Post by cybereality »

Awesome work. Can't wait to see this develop.
User avatar
brantlew
Petrif-Eyed
Posts: 2221
Joined: Sat Sep 17, 2011 9:23 pm
Location: Menlo Park, CA

Re: FreePIE official thread

Post by brantlew »

Just finished up the Vuzix module. It's not in the binary yet, but the source is all downloadable. Here's a quick and dirty script that implements head tracking mouse emulation.

Code: Select all

if (starting) then
   vuzix:setDataUnits(VuzixDataUnits.DEGREES);
   vuzix:setContinuousYawMode(true);
end

mouse:setDeltaX(filters:delta(vuzix:getYaw() * 10));
mouse:setDeltaY(filters:delta(vuzix:getPitch() * 10));
The FreePIE project is still a long way from done or even mature, but this feels like a milestone to me personally, because the whole thing started with me bitching about the lack of Vuzix support in GlovePIE and how we needed to control our own project. So there you go...community at its best. :)

Thanks to everyone who has contributed discussion, ideas, or code. And I gotta give mad props to CyberVillain. I hatched the idea, but he basically ran with it and has done 90% of the heavy lifting on this thing.
CyberVillain
Petrif-Eyed
Posts: 2166
Joined: Mon Jun 22, 2009 8:36 am
Location: Stockholm, Sweden

Re: FreePIE official thread

Post by CyberVillain »

brantlew wrote:Just finished up the Vuzix module. It's not in the binary yet, but the source is all downloadable. Here's a quick and dirty script that implements head tracking mouse emulation.

Code: Select all

if (starting) then
   vuzix:setDataUnits(VuzixDataUnits.DEGREES);
   vuzix:setContinuousYawMode(true);
end

mouse:setDeltaX(filters:delta(vuzix:getYaw() * 10));
mouse:setDeltaY(filters:delta(vuzix:getPitch() * 10));
The FreePIE project is still a long way from done or even mature, but this feels like a milestone to me personally, because the whole thing started with me bitching about the lack of Vuzix support in GlovePIE and how we needed to control our own project. So there you go...community at its best. :)

Thanks to everyone who has contributed discussion, ideas, or code. And I gotta give mad props to CyberVillain. I hatched the idea, but he basically ran with it and has done 90% of the heavy lifting on this thing.
Thanks man! It's a really fun project to work on... I'll release a new binary when we have TrackIR support.....
User avatar
FingerFlinger
Sharp Eyed Eagle!
Posts: 429
Joined: Tue Feb 21, 2012 11:57 pm
Location: Irvine, CA

Re: FreePIE official thread

Post by FingerFlinger »

Hey I'm having trouble getting this working on Vista 64-bit.

Code: Select all

C:\FreePIE>FreePIE.exe iPhone_test_script.lua

Unhandled Exception: System.IO.FileNotFoundException: Could not load file or ass
embly 'lua51.dll' or one of its dependencies. The specified module could not be
found.
   at LuaInterface.Lua..ctor()
   at FreePIE.Core.ScriptEngine.LuaEngine..ctor(IEnumerable`1 globalProviders, I
ScriptParser scriptParser) in C:\DEV\VR\FreePie\FreePIE.Core\ScriptEngine\LuaEng
ine.cs:line 33
   at DynamicInjector4aa7ecb4803341528dd0a47ae4ada263(Object[] )
   at Ninject.Activation.Providers.StandardProvider.Create(IContext context)
   at Ninject.Activation.Context.Resolve()
   at Ninject.KernelBase.<>c__DisplayClasse.<Resolve>b__a(IBinding binding)
   at System.Linq.Enumerable.WhereSelectListIterator`2.MoveNext()
   at FreePIE.Console.Program.Main(String[] args) in C:\DEV\VR\FreePie\FreePIE.C
onsole\Program.cs:line 93
Any ideas? I thought I'd check to see if anybody has already encountered this before I started rooting around for more clues.
User avatar
brantlew
Petrif-Eyed
Posts: 2221
Joined: Sat Sep 17, 2011 9:23 pm
Location: Menlo Park, CA

Re: FreePIE official thread

Post by brantlew »

Well that's my "unofficial" build so it could be screwed in a lot of ways, but if I take the error at face value there is a good chance it is looking for the Visual Studio 2010 runtime (msvcr100.dll). Try downloading it here and put it in the run directory.

http://www.dll-files.com/dllindex/dll-f ... l?msvcr100

Also, watch out for .NET runtime dependencies. Make sure you're on 4.0
CyberVillain
Petrif-Eyed
Posts: 2166
Joined: Mon Jun 22, 2009 8:36 am
Location: Stockholm, Sweden

Re: FreePIE official thread

Post by CyberVillain »

Take the lua51.dll from the official FreePIE release, or take brantlew's Plugin dll and replace the one under Plugins folder in the official release...

I would like to get TrackIR support in next binary release, since thats the only interface games support natively if any. But my brother and I have major problems getting it to work, Naturalpoint really made a cumbersome interface for their API and there is no documentation online since Naturalpoint's license model means you have to pay to get their hardware support in the game (Stupid business model).. I would really need to find a Delphi expert that can port the Freetrack code because it works much better than the FaceTrackNoIR code we currenyl build our solution on.

Anyway, thats why no new binary release has been made after Vuzix and iDevices were supported
User avatar
brantlew
Petrif-Eyed
Posts: 2221
Joined: Sat Sep 17, 2011 9:23 pm
Location: Menlo Park, CA

Re: FreePIE official thread

Post by brantlew »

The lua51.dll is already in that package that I posted, so I think it is probably a dependency issue. lua51.dll only has 2 dependencies. kernel32.dll and msvcr100.dll People that have not downloaded DevStudio 2010 probably will not have this dll by default and we should probably redistribute it with the project.
CyberVillain
Petrif-Eyed
Posts: 2166
Joined: Mon Jun 22, 2009 8:36 am
Location: Stockholm, Sweden

Re: FreePIE official thread

Post by CyberVillain »

brantlew wrote:The lua51.dll is already in that package that I posted, so I think it is probably a dependency issue. lua51.dll only has 2 dependencies. kernel32.dll and msvcr100.dll People that have not downloaded DevStudio 2010 probably will not have this dll by default and we should probably redistribute it with the project.
Ah, yeah correct.. I think I will have to fix up a installer... I dont have much knowledge in the subject though...
User avatar
brantlew
Petrif-Eyed
Posts: 2221
Joined: Sat Sep 17, 2011 9:23 pm
Location: Menlo Park, CA

Re: FreePIE official thread

Post by brantlew »

Tip: You can use \windows\system32\dumpbin.exe to list file dependencies

dumpbin /imports <my_exe_or_dll>
User avatar
FingerFlinger
Sharp Eyed Eagle!
Posts: 429
Joined: Tue Feb 21, 2012 11:57 pm
Location: Irvine, CA

Re: FreePIE official thread

Post by FingerFlinger »

Sheesh... Well, msvcr100.dll fixed that issue, but now it says "FreePIE.exe is not a valid Win32 application"

I'm done messing with it for tonight.

Sorry to turn this into tech support hour!
User avatar
brantlew
Petrif-Eyed
Posts: 2221
Joined: Sat Sep 17, 2011 9:23 pm
Location: Menlo Park, CA

Re: FreePIE official thread

Post by brantlew »

That's cool. You're our first tester so it's good to work through some of these kinks now.

Not sure about this problem...

Dumb question but gotta check. You're unpacking the files first and then running from a command line right? Not trying to double click the app from within a zipped folder, right?

Also...are you running a 32 or 64 bit Windows? It could be the wrong compile for your OS.

Thanks.
CyberVillain
Petrif-Eyed
Posts: 2166
Joined: Mon Jun 22, 2009 8:36 am
Location: Stockholm, Sweden

Re: FreePIE official thread

Post by CyberVillain »

You get the same result with the freepie gui version? Its compiled for x86 (32 bit) so it should work for both x64 and x86
User avatar
FingerFlinger
Sharp Eyed Eagle!
Posts: 429
Joined: Tue Feb 21, 2012 11:57 pm
Location: Irvine, CA

Re: FreePIE official thread

Post by FingerFlinger »

@brantlew

Yeah, unpacking to "c:\FreePIE\" first. When I run from command line, I get a pop-up window saying "FreePIE.exe is not a valid Win32 application"

@cybervillain

The GUI version gives me a pop-up that says "FreePIE.GUI has stopped working"

I doubt it will be useful, but here are the error codes it gives me:

Code: Select all

Description:
  Stopped working

Problem signature:
  Problem Event Name:	CLR20r3
  Problem Signature 01:	freepie.gui.exe
  Problem Signature 02:	0.1.41.0
  Problem Signature 03:	4f4ce99c
  Problem Signature 04:	Anonymously Hosted DynamicMethods Assembly
  Problem Signature 05:	0.0.0.0
  Problem Signature 06:	0
  Problem Signature 07:	1
  Problem Signature 08:	ffffffff
  Problem Signature 09:	System.BadImageFormatException
  OS Version:	6.0.6001.2.1.0.768.3
  Locale ID:	1033
I'm running Vista 64-bit.
CyberVillain
Petrif-Eyed
Posts: 2166
Joined: Mon Jun 22, 2009 8:36 am
Location: Stockholm, Sweden

Re: FreePIE official thread

Post by CyberVillain »

Strange, you have .NET 4.0 installed right?

FingerFlinger wrote:@brantlew

Yeah, unpacking to "c:\FreePIE\" first. When I run from command line, I get a pop-up window saying "FreePIE.exe is not a valid Win32 application"

@cybervillain

The GUI version gives me a pop-up that says "FreePIE.GUI has stopped working"

I doubt it will be useful, but here are the error codes it gives me:

Code: Select all

Description:
  Stopped working

Problem signature:
  Problem Event Name:	CLR20r3
  Problem Signature 01:	freepie.gui.exe
  Problem Signature 02:	0.1.41.0
  Problem Signature 03:	4f4ce99c
  Problem Signature 04:	Anonymously Hosted DynamicMethods Assembly
  Problem Signature 05:	0.0.0.0
  Problem Signature 06:	0
  Problem Signature 07:	1
  Problem Signature 08:	ffffffff
  Problem Signature 09:	System.BadImageFormatException
  OS Version:	6.0.6001.2.1.0.768.3
  Locale ID:	1033
I'm running Vista 64-bit.
User avatar
FingerFlinger
Sharp Eyed Eagle!
Posts: 429
Joined: Tue Feb 21, 2012 11:57 pm
Location: Irvine, CA

Re: FreePIE official thread

Post by FingerFlinger »

I think so, but I'll reinstall and see if that helps.

EDIT: Nope, same behavior.
User avatar
brantlew
Petrif-Eyed
Posts: 2221
Joined: Sat Sep 17, 2011 9:23 pm
Location: Menlo Park, CA

Re: FreePIE official thread

Post by brantlew »

I've got a couple of clean machines laying around. I'll try to do some testing this evening to see if I can get a decent build working...
CyberVillain
Petrif-Eyed
Posts: 2166
Joined: Mon Jun 22, 2009 8:36 am
Location: Stockholm, Sweden

Re: FreePIE official thread

Post by CyberVillain »

brantlew wrote:I've got a couple of clean machines laying around. I'll try to do some testing this evening to see if I can get a decent build working...
I can try on my HTPC this evening, its the only machine I have without VS2010

edit: Not true, my gamer PC does not have VS2010, and it works on that one
User avatar
brantlew
Petrif-Eyed
Posts: 2221
Joined: Sat Sep 17, 2011 9:23 pm
Location: Menlo Park, CA

Re: FreePIE official thread

Post by brantlew »

@FingerFlinger: Well I am able to exactly reproduce your experience with the console build on a 32-bit XP machine, but I'm not going to have time to investigate it thoroughly this evening. I believe "dll-hell" is the proper term for this type of thing. (sometimes I really miss large statically linked C programs)
CyberVillain
Petrif-Eyed
Posts: 2166
Joined: Mon Jun 22, 2009 8:36 am
Location: Stockholm, Sweden

Re: FreePIE official thread

Post by CyberVillain »

brantlew wrote:@FingerFlinger: Well I am able to exactly reproduce your experience with the console build on a 32-bit XP machine, but I'm not going to have time to investigate it thoroughly this evening. I believe "dll-hell" is the proper term for this type of thing. (sometimes I really miss large statically linked C programs)
My clients target platform is XP, and FreePIE works there, it does have VS2010 though.. I think its more of a dll-missing thing then a x64 / x86 thing

edit: Did you also try the WPF gui?
edit2: But your console program does not have any additional dependencies right? So it would be strange if the wpf client works.
bb2020
One Eyed Hopeful
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Oct 02, 2011 6:27 am

Re: FreePIE official thread

Post by bb2020 »

This looks like a great start!
Gonna test tonight on the Vuzix. Will report experiences!
User avatar
brantlew
Petrif-Eyed
Posts: 2221
Joined: Sat Sep 17, 2011 9:23 pm
Location: Menlo Park, CA

Re: FreePIE official thread

Post by brantlew »

ok, sorry for the support delay. I finally figured out why at least the console version of FreePIE was failing. The 32-bit Visual C++ 2010 runtime needs to be installed for the lua parser to function properly. Unlike .NET, it's a tiny install - just a couple of dlls. Here's the link.

http://www.microsoft.com/download/en/de ... px?id=5555
CyberVillain
Petrif-Eyed
Posts: 2166
Joined: Mon Jun 22, 2009 8:36 am
Location: Stockholm, Sweden

Re: FreePIE official thread

Post by CyberVillain »

brantlew wrote:ok, sorry for the support delay. I finally figured out why at least the console version of FreePIE was failing. The 32-bit Visual C++ 2010 runtime needs to be installed for the lua parser to function properly. Unlike .NET, it's a tiny install - just a couple of dlls. Here's the link.

http://www.microsoft.com/download/en/de ... px?id=5555
Nice find! That will fix the GUI also.. We really need a installer
User avatar
brantlew
Petrif-Eyed
Posts: 2221
Joined: Sat Sep 17, 2011 9:23 pm
Location: Menlo Park, CA

Re: FreePIE official thread

Post by brantlew »

Well at least now we know the dependencies. While we are in alpha we can probably just provide the links to the .NET 4.0 and VC2010 runtime in the README.
User avatar
FingerFlinger
Sharp Eyed Eagle!
Posts: 429
Joined: Tue Feb 21, 2012 11:57 pm
Location: Irvine, CA

Re: FreePIE official thread

Post by FingerFlinger »

Okay, still not working...

To clarify what I've done so far:

Started with Vista 64-bit, installed the msvcr100 DLL, reinstalled the .NET runtime and the x86 c++ runtime.
Same error: "FreePIE.exe is not a valid Win32 application"
On my Windows 7 machine, which I just installed fresh a few weeks ago, it throws a runtime error.

I just went through the whole process again, and I'll check both machines after they reboot.


EDIT 2:Don't know what happened, but now the Windows 7 machine is also giving the "not a valid Win32 application" error when trying from the console.

EDIT:

Vista machine still behaves the same: .

The GUI works on the Windows 7 machine, although brantlew's script gives me the following error

Code: Select all

[string "chunk"]:2: attempt to index global 'iPhone' (a nil value)
which I'm sure is just me doing something wrong.

Added the dump from the Windows 7 machine when trying to run the iphone script from the console

Code: Select all

Microsoft Windows [Version 6.1.7601]
Copyright (c) 2009 Microsoft Corporation.  All rights reserved.

C:\Users\eroc>cd ..\..\FreePIE

C:\FreePIE>freepie.exe "iphone_test_script.lua"
Starting script parser

Unhandled Exception: System.NotSupportedException: An attempt was made to load a
n assembly from a network location which would have caused the assembly to be sa
ndboxed in previous versions of the .NET Framework. This release of the .NET Fra
mework does not enable CAS policy by default, so this load may be dangerous. If
this load is not intended to sandbox the assembly, please enable the loadFromRem
oteSources switch. See http://go.microsoft.com/fwlink/?LinkId=155569 for more in
formation.
   at System.Reflection.RuntimeAssembly.nLoadFile(String path, Evidence evidence
)
   at System.Reflection.Assembly.LoadFile(String path)
   at System.Linq.Enumerable.WhereSelectArrayIterator`2.MoveNext()
   at System.Linq.Enumerable.<SelectManyIterator>d__14`2.MoveNext()
   at System.Collections.Generic.List`1..ctor(IEnumerable`1 collection)
   at System.Linq.Enumerable.ToList[TSource](IEnumerable`1 source)
   at FreePIE.Core.Plugins.PluginInvoker.ListAllPluginTypes() in C:\DEV\VR\FreeP
ie\FreePIE.Core\Plugins\PluginInvoker.cs:line 40
   at FreePIE.Core.ScriptEngine.LuaScriptParser.InvokeAndConfigureAllScriptDepen
dantPlugins(String script) in C:\DEV\VR\FreePie\FreePIE.Core\ScriptEngine\LuaScr
iptParser.cs:line 26
   at FreePIE.Core.ScriptEngine.LuaEngine.InitPlugins() in C:\DEV\VR\FreePie\Fre
ePIE.Core\ScriptEngine\LuaEngine.cs:line 122
   at FreePIE.Core.ScriptEngine.LuaEngine.Start(String script) in C:\DEV\VR\Free
Pie\FreePIE.Core\ScriptEngine\LuaEngine.cs:line 40
   at FreePIE.Console.Program.Main(String[] args) in C:\DEV\VR\FreePie\FreePIE.C
onsole\Program.cs:line 99

C:\FreePIE>
User avatar
brantlew
Petrif-Eyed
Posts: 2221
Joined: Sat Sep 17, 2011 9:23 pm
Location: Menlo Park, CA

Re: FreePIE official thread

Post by brantlew »

A couple of ideas.

1. It's good that at least the GUI works now. It appears that everything is linking up properly, however that alpha build on SourceForge was not compiled with the iPhone code so that's why it is complaining when you try to interface the phone. An alpha 2 build of the GUI is probably the best solution.

2. I'm not sure what the console version error means, but you might try to delete the msvcr100.dll out of your run directory. It is not necessary now that you installed the VC runtime and it may be conflicting with the installed runtime. If that doesn't help we should abandon the console version. It's an unofficial configuration so not much use digging into it since the GUI version seems to be functioning.
CyberVillain
Petrif-Eyed
Posts: 2166
Joined: Mon Jun 22, 2009 8:36 am
Location: Stockholm, Sweden

Re: FreePIE official thread

Post by CyberVillain »

I will give the TrackIR code a second chance this weekeend, if I cant get it to work I will upload a new alpha

Until then FingerFlinger, you can try to replace the Plugin dll inside the Plugin folder (For the GUI) with brantlew's Plugin dll and see if that work
User avatar
brantlew
Petrif-Eyed
Posts: 2221
Joined: Sat Sep 17, 2011 9:23 pm
Location: Menlo Park, CA

Re: FreePIE official thread

Post by brantlew »

That's a good idea. Simply swapping out the plugin dll might do the trick.
User avatar
FingerFlinger
Sharp Eyed Eagle!
Posts: 429
Joined: Tue Feb 21, 2012 11:57 pm
Location: Irvine, CA

Re: FreePIE official thread

Post by FingerFlinger »

Swapping out the plugin causes the GUI version to crash, and the console build still won't run after removing msvcr100.dll

I'm glad that the GUI version is working, though! I'd like to help contribute to the project, but my only programming experience since high school is making little Flash games in Actionscript. I think I might be somewhat of out my comfort zone here. I just started checking out the dev threads on the sourceforge forum, so I'll guess I'll pipe in if I feel I can help, or let me know if there is some way I can be useful.

Code: Select all

Description:
  Stopped working

Problem signature:
  Problem Event Name:	CLR20r3
  Problem Signature 01:	freepie.gui.exe
  Problem Signature 02:	0.1.41.0
  Problem Signature 03:	4f4ce99c
  Problem Signature 04:	mscorlib
  Problem Signature 05:	4.0.0.0
  Problem Signature 06:	4da3fe76
  Problem Signature 07:	25a2
  Problem Signature 08:	d
  Problem Signature 09:	System.NotSupportedException
  OS Version:	6.0.6001.2.1.0.768.3
  Locale ID:	1033
CyberVillain
Petrif-Eyed
Posts: 2166
Joined: Mon Jun 22, 2009 8:36 am
Location: Stockholm, Sweden

Re: FreePIE official thread

Post by CyberVillain »

We need all the testing help we can get, thanks! I will put up a new binary some time this weekend
User avatar
brantlew
Petrif-Eyed
Posts: 2221
Joined: Sat Sep 17, 2011 9:23 pm
Location: Menlo Park, CA

Re: FreePIE official thread

Post by brantlew »

@FingerFlinger: Two ways that non-coders can help. Testing and documentation (user manual). Programmers are notoriously incompetent at both of those tasks (myself included), so it would be great to have others help out with that.
User avatar
Neil
3D Angel Eyes (Moderator)
Posts: 6882
Joined: Wed Dec 31, 1969 6:00 pm
Contact:

Re: FreePIE official thread

Post by Neil »

Woah! Just spotted this thread.

We could look at making an official section on the site for this - maybe a sub-forum? Do you think it would be popular?

Regards,
Neil
User avatar
brantlew
Petrif-Eyed
Posts: 2221
Joined: Sat Sep 17, 2011 9:23 pm
Location: Menlo Park, CA

Re: FreePIE official thread

Post by brantlew »

Well so far it has only generated casual interest. Right now there is almost no reason to choose FreePIE over GlovePIE except for the Vuzix support. Hopefully over time it will become more compelling, and there will be a reason for a support thread. But I don't think it's there yet.
CyberVillain
Petrif-Eyed
Posts: 2166
Joined: Mon Jun 22, 2009 8:36 am
Location: Stockholm, Sweden

Re: FreePIE official thread

Post by CyberVillain »

But anything that can bring it out in the spotlight is welcome :P
CyberVillain
Petrif-Eyed
Posts: 2166
Joined: Mon Jun 22, 2009 8:36 am
Location: Stockholm, Sweden

Re: FreePIE official thread

Post by CyberVillain »

Just released new alpha binaries.
User avatar
FingerFlinger
Sharp Eyed Eagle!
Posts: 429
Joined: Tue Feb 21, 2012 11:57 pm
Location: Irvine, CA

Re: FreePIE official thread

Post by FingerFlinger »

Finally got moved into my new apartment, and tried out the new alpha. Seems stable, and stuff works.

@brantlew the iphone_script_works great for me; it tracks pretty smoothly and without excessive lag. Did you ever find out why you were only getting 10Hz update speed?
User avatar
brantlew
Petrif-Eyed
Posts: 2221
Joined: Sat Sep 17, 2011 9:23 pm
Location: Menlo Park, CA

Re: FreePIE official thread

Post by brantlew »

Oh that's great! I'm glad it's finally working. No I did not investigate the stuttering. It could be some apps on the phone or maybe something about my network. I'm happy to hear that you are not experiencing it.

BTW. There are several iPhone belt clip cases that you can simply clip onto a set of headphones for a simple head-tracking solution.
User avatar
FingerFlinger
Sharp Eyed Eagle!
Posts: 429
Joined: Tue Feb 21, 2012 11:57 pm
Location: Irvine, CA

Re: FreePIE official thread

Post by FingerFlinger »

Yeah, right now I am stuffing it underneath the top-of-head strap on my HMZ, but it works well enough!

I was testing it in Oblivion for about 15 minutes and I noticed that FreePIE quit tracking suddenly. I exited and FreePIE had shut down, so a possible crash. When I have some time, I'm going to see if I can replicate the problem.
CyberVillain
Petrif-Eyed
Posts: 2166
Joined: Mon Jun 22, 2009 8:36 am
Location: Stockholm, Sweden

Re: FreePIE official thread

Post by CyberVillain »

FingerFlinger wrote:Yeah, right now I am stuffing it underneath the top-of-head strap on my HMZ, but it works well enough!

I was testing it in Oblivion for about 15 minutes and I noticed that FreePIE quit tracking suddenly. I exited and FreePIE had shut down, so a possible crash. When I have some time, I'm going to see if I can replicate the problem.
Nice its working for you, strange with the crash, can you please check the windows event viewer for errors?
CyberVillain
Petrif-Eyed
Posts: 2166
Joined: Mon Jun 22, 2009 8:36 am
Location: Stockholm, Sweden

Re: FreePIE official thread

Post by CyberVillain »

BadKarma wrote:Thanks a lot CyberVillain! You made my day by sharing that with me ;)

1. So far I got it working (got rid of the hotkey and use only the toggle function) and quick tested it in Crysis 2. Seems your multiplier was set pretty high, but I'm sure it's all game related?

2. And oh, just to let you know I'm having the same drift issues you've been having so it's definitely not your IMU. Haven't calibrated it yet with the AHRS so going to do that as well before trying again.

3. I've used a USB cable this time to get it to work, since my Bluetooth module outputs in binary mode by default apparently. Need to change that into text output, burn it again and test it WITH the Bluetooth module. Going to do so this afternoon and post any results here.

And now for another FreePIE question: How can I send serial commands? I know GlovePIE uses "Serialout(COM12, "COMMANDHERE")" and I did a quick search for a LUA equivalent. Or am I going at it from a totally wrong angle? Would like to know how to do this because I can make my Razor IMU output text format with a command (#ot) as you probably know. This way I won't have to rewrite the Arduino code and it gives me the possibility to synch with it so I won't run into any reset problems.

Any input is much appreciated guys!
1) The example uses FreeTrack which outputs in Radians, remove Math.deg if you use the AHRS plugin it outputs in Degrees, that can change the output sensativity. If its still too sensitive change multiply = 20 to something smaller

2) Ok, i tried that without success, let me know how it goes!

3) There is no raw com plugin yet for FreePIE, could wip something up. The AHRS plugin switches to binary mode by it self by sending the this command (The AHRS plugin uses binary input not text)

Code: Select all

serialPort.Write("#ob");
Post Reply

Return to “FreePIE”